Christmas baubles layered cards wih faux stitching

I love creating my sets for Christmas and these were so quick and fun to create using fussy cutting to cut out many bold baubles from some paper. I really enjoy sitting and cutting as I find it theraputic and gives great finished look.

I layered up using snippets of card left over from other cards I hav made. I think it is great to cut down my scrap pile and just inking the edges helps the layers stand out well.

I really struggled to show the subtle detail I gave the bottom layer using old ink and a festive stamp of poinsettas sorry the photo really doesn’t show it well.

To help with the positioning I use my double sided tape but only peel away one side of each strip so I can carefully line up the piece without it sticking down in the wrong place.

20170617_165853

I love the finished toppers all different yet perfectly co-ordinated as a lovely festive set. When I placed them on the card I chose to add a small strip of gold mirror card as a banner along the bottom of each card. This again used up some scraps and just added great detail to each card.

I finsihed the cards with faux stitching doing very small dash lines in red on the red festive paper and gold dashes on the bottom layer and then adding a fram by doing a swivel and dot faux stitched line using my red pen directly onto the card keepig the line very close to the layers.. The only problem of doing the drawing directly onto the card is that the ink sits on top and takes a while to dry and so I did smudge one of my attempts.

Sorry for all the festive posts I will be going back to other cards soon but I love to get organised so I can enjoy the crafting and not feel rushed in my Christmas card making.

Thanks for stopping by.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. These look great, so eye-catching

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s getting that time of the year again. Love these cards with the faux stitching

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you, i like to get ahead on my crafting πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

