Mermaid hiding behind the seaweed. A colourful card usingfoiling and fussy cutting.

So once I started using my new set from Cardmaking and papercraft magazine I couldn’t stop myself making even more Mermaid cards. I loved the idea of her hiding and when I looked through the papers that are also included as part of the free gift I knew this seaweed design would work perfectly.

I stamped using silver ink on white as I wanted the ink to be as subtle as possible and by the time I had coloured her in the ink looked more like fant pencil markings. I first coloured using ordinary cheap crayons.

20170611_094200.jpg

I then carefully foiled detail on her tail and as it dried I set to work with my gel pens to add more vibrant colouring using my white pen to blend.

 

I cut out the hole to be irregular so that it seemed to follow the edges of some of the bolder seaweeds on the paper. I used another stamped mage to check the fit as my mermaid was still drying and I didn’t want to smudge the pens. I decided to add back in two seaweeds as there was too much space in the hole I had cut.

 

20170611_085837
Creating the window for the mermaid to peep through

I decided that only having the tail foiled looked too out of place so i highlighted two scales by foiling them with the same foil. I am very pleased with my bright card but wish I had thought to put blue paper behind the mermaid isntead of having the white of the card showing through.

20170611_143836

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I got my magazine and came on holiday very soon after, your cards are making me want to get home and play! I have bought Papercraft Inspirations whilst away with a fab horse/unicorn die and stamps and I really want to get going with those, too

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Yes both are great this month love my unicorn die. Need to get back to some Christmas cards but do love my magazine freebies and look forward to seeing your card makes ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Home Saturday, but Sunday is His Lordship’s birthday so no crafting till Monday at the earliest! It’s ages since I last did a blog post, too

        Liked by 1 person

      2. fibee5 says:

        aww hope you enjoy your holiday though 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

