Mermaid in moonlight; a black and silver card.

on

I have had my latest issue of cardmaking and papercraft magazine but been a little stuck on ideas for the free gift until the concept of a mermaid bathed in moonlight came to mind. I knew I had black card but was unsure if the silver ink would show up against it, I was pleasantly suprised by how well the ink shone out. I built my scene using a mask of the mermaid to help position three seweed clusters around the mermaid and as I didn’t want the mirror showing I carefully hid it amoungst one of the seweeds .

I felt that just having a sentiment wouldn’t stand out very well so I used a single shell to help draw focus to the words but I refrained from using any layers or foam pads. The only element of depth is from the silver 3d paint I used as droplets around the card and also on her hair to add more shine. Before adding this however I used a white chalk to highlight and then sprayed with a hairspray before drawing in more white with a snow pen that really pops against the black card.

I am very pleased with this simple yet mystical card.

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. This works so well, really pretty

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thankyou so much πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kim M says:

    She looks stunning in her silver glory 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you very much πŸ™‚ It was very fun to create

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Like this much better than the other mermaid you did. I like the idea of stamping silver onto black. I used to use white embossing on black quite a lot but haven’t done that for a few years. Mmmmmmmmmm you got my brain ticking lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      I love that I can get others thinking of crafting thank you as you really made my night, such a compliment to stir creative thoughts πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

