Pink and purple flowers created using two different techniques

I have been challnging myself to create my own background papers with stamps and I just love the slightly metalic shimmer to the purple ink on these delicate flowers

The shimmer of the purple ink doesnt show well in the photos. I used the same ink for the sentiment, it felt a shame to cover some of those little flowers but I knew it needed something there.

I balanced the sentiment with the large paper flower that was created with white paper, circle die cutters and inking the edges with pink watercolour paint. I love layering up these flowers and seeing them come to life, the torn edges gives the petals a great texture and finishing with a gem or sticky pearl adds a touch of glamour to the flower.

20170513_122903

For more infomation on how i make these paper flowers check out this previous post.

The second technique is making use of the latest free gift with the cardmaking and papercraft magazine. I love the fact you get three sizes of petals and then inspiration within the magazine to help you get going.

20170513_122744

All the petals are inked in my lovely purple ink around the edges to give great shading. I gave the large flower shape by creasing each petal. I spent a long time matting and layering for this card and deciding how many flowers to add and where best to place them all.

The last step was to decide what to add to the flower centers, i tried with large beads but decided seed beads looked far better and eventually came up with the mixture of the metalic with the clear. I am so pleased with this card.

20170513_122726

Leave a Reply

