Creating paper flowers for spring themed budget card makes

on

I have been watching Creat and Craft TV a lot for inspiration lately and I came across a few inspiring paper flower demonstrations. Having only recently bought a great amount this month I knew I couldn’t afford to buy their set but wondered if I couldn’t achieve something with my papers cut using my circle dies.

So first I set about cutting out a large number of various sized and coloured circles that would layer up to become my flowers. I initially didn’t fray the edges but decided that I much prefer the texture given when ripping the edges of each circle. I also didn’t initially ink the edges of the circles but decided I  liked the look of the two toned petals, however both work nicely to create a flower of many layers.

I would spray the circles after inking and scrunch them up individually giving further texture and the water not only helping to mold the paper but also helping the ink blend.

I then placed them on a huge number of lids of various sides to help the paper keep it’s shape. To further help the paper keep it’s shape I would spray all the paper with hair spray and then leave to dry for around two hours.

I was so happy with how well my experiment worked out and turned to building up my flowers using my UHU glue to stick down each layer with just a small dot of glue on the middle of each layer.

20170501_104033

The two tones of yellow paper inked with a mixture of yellow and orange gives I think a very cheerful flower and then adding one 3mm bronze sticky jem just gives a touch of glam to the card. I recently got myself a leaf die set so I chose 5 of these loopy leaves some twisting to the left some to the right (I do love that you get two dies for each leaf shape to create realistic looking foliage).

I used a snippet of golden dotty paper that has a glitter effect on the dots (sorry my photos don’t show this shimmer) for a matt to help my sentiment fill the space nicely and also highlight the words a little as the flower just grabs all the attention otherwise.

I love my 3D flowers, I had to crush them a little more flat infact as they really do hold their shaping.

20170501_104013

For more glamour I decided to have foiled leaves. To do this I used my double sided tape to create a stripped blue/green paper with silver foil. I then cut out the shimmery leaves.

I decided to team yellow with the blue and cut a small square of yellow card to back my flower and arrange the shimmery leaves around to create this featured corner design. I stamped my sentiment having to mask the words as they are actually one continuos line of words on the clear stamp but I wanted them to be one word ontop of the other.

I snuck the simple blue/green foliage under the yellow card. This time I left the foliage alone without foil detailing. Finally to fill a bit more of the space on the card I stamped two blue butterflies on the card and I stuck one large pearl sticker in the center of the blue flower.

This large flower is not inked but still uses the large pearl sticker. I also loved the foil on the foliage so used the largest dies on the strippy foil paper. Placing it all against a shimmer silver card it was simple to make but one of my favourite card makes.

20170501_104239

These yellow flowers don’t have any jems in their centers but a few of the very small torn circles scrunched in together tightly.

I gave the top leaves definition by rubbing the ball point end of a pin to get a deep groove down the center of each leaf. I chose to keep the bottom line of leaves plain without the definitin.and tucked them all slightly under the blue dotty paper.

I finished with the blue stamped sentiment to tie in nicely with the blue dotty paper and just a dash of sequins. I just love these 3D looks.

20170501_104228 (1)

 

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. PaperPuff says:

    Your flowers are very pretty. Always worth trying out a cheaper alternative, especially when it works as well as this has. You should be feeling pretty chuffed!

    Like

    1. fibee5 says:

      I was actually amazed that it worked so well. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. MrsCraft says:

    These are really gorgeous-your experiment worked beautifully!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you 😊

      Like

  3. These are great. It’s amazing how often the cheap option works

    Like

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you. I was pleasantly surprised and am now hooked to making paper flowers ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

