Turning my mistakes around. A stamped and masked card with a twist.

I have been enjoying the fun to be had with stamping and masking and here is another card to show you all. I love the rose stamp for masking as it’s a good size that allows me flexibility on where i position it but yet not so small as to be fiddly.

I wanted to mask a narrow border for a sentiment to be added at a later stage so i simply cut a scrap of paper to the size I wanted and used it as my mask. Due to hearing of how even low tack tape can at times rip the paper I chose to hold mine down as I stamped, a bit more tricky I guess but I knew there was no worries of it sticking and tearing my work.

My rose mask is simply cut from a scrap of white paper that again I carfully held in place so as to not risk any tearing of my work. I loved how quick and fun it was to build up this image.

Once I had a good amount of roses stamped I moved on to colouring them in with fine felt tip pens, I have a large number of coloured pens so I wanted to try out these vivid colours on my stamps. I found that the roses became much too dark and bold for my tastes but was still happy enough with the look..

20170412_205315(1)

Here is where the twist comes in though, as I held it up for my husband to take a look (who then dutifully said he liked it) I noticed how the pen had seeped through the paper to leave a faded look on the reverse of my page.

20170412_205334(1)

So literally a twist in my creativity that brought about a great look by simple chance. I now think I will attempt this again but on purpose as I love the almost vintage effect on the roses.

The final card is very simple in design, I used my ‘Have a lovely day’ stamp in red and for once didn’t mind that it didn’t come out bold as the faded letters work well with the flowers. Then i simply added a few stik on jems, I think i am finally getting better at CAS designs.

vintage rose card

vintage rose card 2

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Marina says:

    Yes it does look pretty – very soft and almost like no-line colouring. So clever!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you i thought it was destined for the bin

      Like

  2. This is gorgeous, really effective

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you so much for your comments 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I treated myself to some Pebeo, drawing gum not long back, so that I could have a go at masking (I read this was very good as you paint it over the part you want to mask and it doesn’t slip like paper masks sometimes do). As of this moment however,, I still haven’t had the courage to try it. Seeing how well your masking has worked out I think it is something I need to try in the not to distant future.

    Like

    1. fibee5 says:

      I used paper masks and enjoy the effects you can create with masks

      Like

Leave a Reply

