My attempts at creating foiled cards using blue butterflies glue and blue foil.

I have seen beautifully crafted cards created using foiling techniques but I confess I had no idea just how tricky this would prove to be. I ened up in a very sticky mess with two cards created to a very low standard and many more scraps destined for the bin.

I had hoped to highlight all the detail of the butterflies with the foil but the glue must have spread out on the paper, perhaps the paper soaked it in I don’t know but what was neatly painted glue soon became sticky blobs.

20170410_180444

As you can see some areas simply didn’t keep hold of the foil despite having glue applied and in other areas the foil stuck with seemingly no reason. Any advce or tips would be greatly appreciated as no matter what I experimented there seemed no controling the foil. I tried various papers and two types of glue sometimes leaving them to dry sometimes not but no matter what I tried nothing really worked out.

I kept the remainder of the cards fairly basic although i did opt for a glittery blue background for the three butterflies but the foiling has been very dissapointing.

So not a very successful crafting day but hopefully someone out htere will know where I am going wrong. Think for now I will stick to stamping and painting.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. PaperPuff says:

    Well you did get a lovely end result! What glue and foil were you using? I don’t know if I can be of any help as I have often ended up with more foil or flakes on my fingers than anywhere else… but I will try!

    Like

    1. fibee5 says:

      I used rolls of foil not flakes and i tried both the glue that came with it and my UHU glue trying to let it dry before applying the foil

      Liked by 1 person

      1. PaperPuff says:

        For spot foiling I find a Quickie Glue Pen is good because you need something that remains tacky, and because it is a pen you can do fine detail. You can also get glue stamping pads but they never worked well for me. Also, double sided tape works well if you want a foiled stripe or border anywhere.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. fibee5 says:

        Yes I need to restock on double sided tape and give that a go as I think I will have better luck with it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

