Sunday morning spent watercolouring a tulip.

I want to enter a few challenges with this card. The starting point was Little Tangles challenge for April whch was to use watercolours. Unfortunately I cannot enter it on thier site as I didn’t use the stamps but hope to properly participate next time. For now thanks for the inspiration! I was more than happy to get my paints back out and I think they really lend themselves to spring flowers.

20170409_110030

The second challenge to enter is the spring themed challenge over at stempelgartenchallenge. I think the colourful tulip effortlessly fits with the colourful spring theme of this challenge. I also want to eneter the AAA cards challenge for a CAS spring card

20170409_110232

I first used a pencil to very lightly sketch the main shapes then quickly washed a pale green for the background and added shades of green to the leaves and stem, adding subtle depth to the scene.

I made a very pale yellow and panted the whole tulip in this first as a base colour to blend onto. I then created a purple red colour to streak across the petals of the tulip to add some definition and once that had dried a little I created the top layer of fuscia red fianlly i went round the flower again and again with various shades of these colours occasinally creating a more orange tone for shadows.

It took me almost an hour to paint but I am so very happy with the final results.

I felt the tulip was enough for the card so I trimmed the size to fit onto my white card and then Β finished with a simple sentiment stamped onto pale blue with just a thin strip of pink polka dot card to highlight the words a bit more.

20170409_112636

13 Comments Add yours

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you very much πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. Jane says:

    How amazingly realistic your watercolouring is, could be a photo. Thanks for linking up at AAA Cards.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Wow thank you so much

      Like

  2. Sarah says:

    Absolutely stunning watercolouring, beautiful colour tones and a great take on our spring challenge. Thanks for playing along at AAA Cards this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you very much πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Wow thats incredible Fiona! What gorgeous watercolouring, you’re a real artist!!

    Like

  4. This is absolutely lovely, Fibees. Thanks for sharing with us at AAA Cards.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thankyou πŸ™‚ it turned out a bit bolder than i would have liked but I spent years of art using acrylics to paint so I need to get used to watercolour paints

      Like

  5. Kuni says:

    A wonderful card.
    Thank you for joining us at the Stempelgarten Challenge.
    Hugs
    Kuni

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you πŸ™‚ so relaxing to sit and paint

      Like

  6. Claudia says:

    Hi Fiona, what a wonderful tulip you painted, this is so lovely with the colours you chose!

    Thank you very much for joining us at the Stempelgarten Challenge.

    Hugs and good luck
    Claudia

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you very much πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

