Experimenting with banners to create three different cards

I have seen many cards that incorporate some type of banner. The first card is created using ribbon and scrap card for the thin banners and the middle from my frame die cuts for the more rounded banners out of the circle.

20170404_174738

I struggled to chose a feature for the card, I knew I wanted something subtle so as to not overload the card and I hoped to use my birds again. It wasn’t until I accidentally flipped a bird over, showing the darkbrown of its underside, that I finally made my feature of two birds flying over a golden sparkle circle.

20170404_174724

I am very happy with this card, especially when my husband said it was his favourite to date. I love how supportive he is of my hobby 😊.

The next card was made with a thought about pleated banners and just playing with my scrap card. It was a quick make with little second guessing or critical thinking, I do love when creativity takes over and you exist in this flow of joy. The outcome isn’t always perfect but these moments are precious.

20170404_174707

This final card is made using the negative cut frommy bird die cut placed over subtle patterened paper. The banner element flows down fromthe white flower creating an almost Rossett look.

20170404_174648

To make it i used one of my white fabric flowers and cut offs from the negative cut of the birds, this gives the card great continuity. Instead of sticking a gemto the center of the white flower I cut out one of the tiny flowers from the patterened paper. I am happy with the mix of the patterened papers.

The first card is my favourite but i did enjoy making them all, do you have a favourite? Thanks for stopping by.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Pretty cards, and great for scraps; really like how you’ve used the negative from your birds. I like banners, very versatile and a good way of jazzing up a card.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you very much. Think I will be using more banners in future 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. PaperPuff says:

    Love banners! The first is my favourite too. I like the variety of shapes and colours. Have a good weekend!

    Like

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you 😄

      Like

  3. TechBook says:

    Think I will be using more banners in future 😊 Thank you 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      It is a good way to use scraps but also great fun to do. So easy. Hope you enjoy

      Like

Leave a Reply

