Another card trilogy, this time using circle and bird cutters

So i believe i mentioned my recent shoping at The Works, not only did i get the fancy birdcage cutter (featured in the previous post) but i got a set of circle cutters each with a subtle stitch effect around the outer edge. No more time consuming cutting out by hand!

20170404_174304

The flowers in this card are cut from the layered sleeve of a box of chocolates, I love to find ways to reuse things!

Unfortunately I have to confess to buying yet more craft items. Me and my husband went to visit the in-laws over the weekend and we stopped in Liverpool to stretch our legs before catching a train to Huddersfield. This of course ment visiting the art shop where i found three tiny die cutters at just £1.50 each! So i now have a tag, frame and bird to add to my growing collection.

20170404_174319

I think the bird shape is delicate and beautiful, it is fast becoming a new favourite of mine. For this card I simply stuck down three patterened birds onto metalic pink card ,purchased from TheWorks, and added a little more detail with white flowers (sticking a pearl sticker in the center), pink ribbon and one golden sticky gem in the bottom corner.

I really love this card and for once i feel i haven’t made the card to busy.

20170404_174330

This card was a very quick make using hunky dory paper and a few butterflies from my huge stash. Then i simply added a double tag to the basket image doing my best to make it look as though connected to the handle of the basket. I love it when a card just works how you hoped without any stress.

So there is another three cards made with my newest cutters. Thanks for reading.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. PaperPuff says:

    Don’t feel bad about making a few bargain purchases! I really like the bird die you have bought too. I also like how you use packaging (I know we have discussed this before). Very creative and a super trilogy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Love the bargains to be had but i really have so much stuff right now. It is great to find ways to re use items 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      1. PaperPuff says:

        Give it a year, your stash will be huge!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. That little bird is so sweet, bet you’ll get far more than your money’s worth out of it! It’s hard when you’re starting out to build up enough dies to get a card how you want without breaking the bank, great that you’ve been lucky enough to find a place for bargains (head to Poundland too)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      I frequently visit all those types there are so many cheap craft items out there but I have pledged to not spend anything for two months and instead use things I already have. Thank you for your lovely comment 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

