Three blue and gold butterfly cards

So I wanted to make some simple cards using a blue glitter card and managed to make three cards fairly quickly. Unusually for me I am very happy with all my makes even though they did not take too long to create.

My first card that inspired the others was the lock card using a double circle and a buttetfly.

20170312_172039

I cut the butterfly from blue glitter card using the largest of my three butterfly die cutters. (I know that i really need to get a few more die cutters sorry it’s just butterflies for now lol). So i used the butterfly to determine how big the circles needed to be and then set about finding something to draw around, in the end using a candle and the roll of double sided tape. The cutting was a bit messy but good enough.

I used a pale blue piece of card to create my card base and attached the circle to one side and the butterfly to the other making sure they locked nicely together when the card closed. I used a bit more of the blue glitter card to create a ribbon of sparkle along the bottom of the card. I used my oceanblue ink to stamp some detailed butterflies in the top corners.

20170312_172049

I then finished off with stamping a birthday sentiment at the bottom right. I  am begining to think of buying a precision tool for stamping as I  would have liked to re ink and stamp the sentiment but without a tool i knew it would just blur.

Deciding that the patterened paper that I used was too dull next to the glitter card, I chose to try out blue and gold and was so pleased that I did. I made my easel card on the same pale blue card but this time carefully folded the card to create the desired easel effect.

20170312_171953

To tone down the card a little i used some blue spotty paper for alternate circles, again drawing round my tape then carefully cutting. This time i made it much more tricky by cutting one circle using wavey craft scissors, I  was very pleased with how this circle turned out as sometimes the curves don’t line up well at the end of the circle.

I attached my golden mirror butterfly at an angle using strong craft glue but even with all this,i felt the front of the card needed just a bit more detail so I attached a narrow ribbon of the gold mirror card with a much narrower strip down the centre.

I used the medium sized butterfly to cut another golden butterfly to use as my stopper. I love the look of this card and may soon try more tricky versions of easel cards.

20170312_172000

So the third card is a basic card base in that same pale blue. This is the most basic of the cards but uses the negative from the cutting of the large blue sparkly butterfly. I enjoy finding ways to never waste anything.

20170312_172138

I off set the circles and large gold butterfly and love how this gives a feel of movement to the card. I liked the use of my tiny golden butterfly at the end of a narrow strip of sparkly blue, I even used off cuts from my circles to add a curved corner. A simple but bold card.

20170312_172122

This is just a quick taster of some of my weekends crafts,more blogs to follow soon. Please let me know what you think in the comments below. Thanks.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Really lovely. It’s nice to see that you’re getting such good use from the dies you do have. I use the Rare Earth Load’N’Fold which is a precision press for my stamping, it changed my stamping so much – I did post about it, I paid £20 for the rectangular and square ones from Create and Craft

    Like

    1. fibee5 says:

      Yes I think i read your post and did some looking on create and craft but couldn’t find it. Will have to look again as that is a great price.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. PaperPuff says:

    Very pretty! I like cards with interesting ways of opening and closing. The colours look great too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you very much 😊 I do a lot of basic cards but really enjoy creating a bit of an interesting base and I am slowly getting more confident with it. There are still so many usually folding cards that I want to try out.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. MrsCraft says:

    I love the lock card! Very clever, and glitter is always fab. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you very much 😊 I have finally ordered some circle dies so will soon be able to recreate the lock card without all the tricky cutting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

