Making three golden butterfly cards at once

on

As usual I found my starting inspiration from the lovely creative people on wordpress. I loved the idea of layering up a die cut image to add depth to a card. Only having one die cut set means i am again writing about my butterfly cutters.

20170213_171211
The three butterfly die cutters

So first i used some old green card to cut out a huge number of butterflies and keeping the scraps to later use as stencils.

20170304_1147291

I then chose a beautiful rose background that incorporates the green and decided on just one of each butterfly using gold card.

20170304_1148551

I cut my card base in half so that my golden card at the top would create a window. I love the different depths within this card. To add more continuity I used the spiral shapes from the butterflies sticking them around the roses carefully.

I am so happy with the final look of this first card with great colours. Sticking all the butterflies together was a bit of a challenge to keep them all perfectly aligned. I used different number of the green card butterflies to make three different levels.

20170304_1148381
I am so pleased with this window card

My second card uses a similar golden window but placing different patterened paper behind to make a large rose patterened butterfly and two golden dotty butterflies.

20170304_1141491

The gold mirror card was from BandM bargains for £1.99 and the paper is from two different pads containing a varirty of patterns that were both purchased from poundstrecher.

20170304_1142221

I felt the larger butterfly was needing more detail and so i chose to stick a medium sized golden butterfly within the window. I used the same rose patterened paper to create butterflies to place along the card flowing seamlessly from the dotty background to the mirror gold.

20170304_1146041

The final touch was to create a ribbon of gold to go along the bottom of the card but the straight line felt too harsh with all the gentle curves so i cut a few small butterflies from the right having the butterflies coming off the edge. I love the feeling of movement this gives the card.

20170304_1145381

The third card was made by using the stencil of the rose paper and two strips left from the gold dotty paper. To add a little interest i used paper from an old avon magazine to fill in some of the butterflies and cut out a few butterflies.

Pleaee let me know what you think of the cards, do you have a favourite?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. PaperPuff says:

    All three are very pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you very much, i feel i am improving all the time 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

