Budget butterfly card makes

I was exited to be using my new butterfly die cutters as you know, I realise i haven’t stopped blogging about them but they are just that beautiful. So anyway I was very glad I had kept a load of very old Avon magazines from way back when I used to be a rep. The paper cuts very easily which can mean a few get torn but I created some subtle shimmer using the glittery nailvarnish page.

20170215_1130421

Please can I just say though, if you get an avon catalogue through your door ask the lady who is posting it through if they have old issues for you to chop up as each avon rep pays for the books and so please don’t just cut them up when someone else is trying to earn money from them. As i said mine are very old and as i was the one paying for them I was very glad to find a new use for them. Just one page ade a great number of butterflies.

20170215_1131491

I spent many hours cutting up a few of the make up pages finding even that the pages selling jewelry were great as usualy the model wore a very pritty dress that made more shimmery butterflies. I now have a huge stock but really it was so much fun to experiement and reuse old magazines.

For the card I chose two different papers and cut them at a diagonal slant to give more of a feel of movement to the butterflies. I tried a great number of layouts but decided in the end that the top paper was too busy to have butterflies as well but that they worked nicely over the more subtle pink paper.20170228_1733521

I used a small heart punch to get a few pink hearts in a very similar shimmer and finished off by picking out a pink mirror card that i cut a very small strip from and then used two sticky gems for the larger butterfly. I am very happy with the end result.

20170228_1738551

I made the second card almost at the same time as I used off cuts of the same patterned paper. Instead of using magazines to create the butterflies I found a third paper that was a pale pink and white pattern. They turned out even better than I had hoped and I love how quick this card was to make.

I used the same purple jems but perhaps a paler pink might have gone better.As always please let me know what you think and thank you for reading.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. PaperPuff says:

    Great budget make ideas. There is so much we can use if we just take a second look!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you very much. I hate to throw things away

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

