Rose bud

First of all can i just say how sorry i am for how long it has been since i wrote a post but i have really been struggling to take any good photos of my projects, the photos are still a bit shocking but I simply couldn’t keep waiting to share my card crafts.

So here is a card inspired by Lady Joyful’s card “Butterfly wishes“. I loved the use of paper piercing and decided to give it a go using a sharp pin and an old eraser.

20170224_1443562

I first drew a great number of roses and rose buds with a pencil onto pastel pink paper. I carefully pierced along the outer edge of each petal to give subtle texture before colouring in with a pink gel pen.

20170224_1446171

Then using a pale green paper i drew very basic leaf shapes and pierced with the pin trying to keep the spacing between holes even. I was pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to createthis subtle texture and am very greatful for the inspiring blog Thejoyfulsoulcreates.wordpress.com

20170224_1445122

I coloured the leaves using a pale green pen that turned much darker than i would have liked but i am pleased with the overall look.

The inspiration for the layout comes from another card by Lady Joyful called “Butterfly Hugs“. I really loved her wavey channel so now i needed to play around with different papers. In the end i chose a very subtle leaf pattern for behind my rose bud and leaves. I found that the number of flowers i had simply didnt work in a narrow channel so I chose to use just the bud. The textured card is actually the reverse of a red rose paper but i decided that the red was too bold and so flipped it around for the textured pattern.

I think giving the flower a backdrop of the pastel pink really helps it to stand out. I tried to keep a simplistic approach with subtle shapes and just one window of colour. Unusually for me i have not used any stamps or given the card a sentiment as i felt it didn’t need one. Does this make it look a bit too plain? Please let me know what you think below.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Lady Joyful says:

    Your card is beautiful! I’m so happy I was able to inspire you 🙂 I think it looks just fine without a sentiment, and you can always go back and add one later if you decide it needs one.

    Like

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you very much, i like that it can be used for many purposes ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lady Joyful says:

        Yup, that’s always good with cards especially if they aren’t being made with a specific occasion in mind 🙂

        Like

  2. PaperPuff says:

    Your card is so pretty! I really like the section detail too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. fibee5 says:

      Thank you very much 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

